home about cds videos contact
This much-awaited 3rd release as a leader features acclaimed multi-saxophonist Steve Heckman in the company of his stellar quartet and quintet.


Steve Heckman: tenor, alto saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet
Howard Alden: guitar
Matt Clark: piano
Marcus Shelby: bass
Akira Tana: drums

Artist(s)/Title: Steve Heckman Quartet/Quintet: Born To Be Blue
Catalog #: JM1062
Songs: Click Here
Album Reviews: Click Here
  1. Alone Together - Listen to clip
  2. Moon and Sand - Listen to clip
  3. Andrew's Pate - Listen to clip
  4. Born to Be Blue - Listen to clip
  5. How Deep is the Ocean - Listen to clip
  6. I Thought About You - Listen to clip
  7. We Will Meet Again - Listen to clip
  8. The Things We Did Last Summer - Listen to clip
  9. I Remember Zoot - Listen to clip
  10. Lazy Afternoon - Listen to clip
  11. Without a Song - Listen to clip
Back to top
  • Recorded at the legendary Fantasy Recording studios in Berkeley, California. Steve's playing has been praised by saxophonists as diverse as Stan Getz ("Beautiful!"), Charles Lloyd ("A beautiful talent") and Pharoah Sanders ("This cat can play!").
  • Steve has invited renowned and highly versatile New York guitarist Howard Alden to join him in this swinging and beautifully lyrical recording, with superb support from pianist Matt Clark, a mainstay in the San Francisco Bay Area scene, multi-award winner bassist Marcus Shelby, and internationally known drummer Akira Tana.
  • Born to Be Blue is a collection of profound beauty, subtlety and swing, in which there is an ever-present lyricism and almost telepathic communication between the players. The CD features several tunes from the Great American Song Book including "Alone Together", "How Deep Is The Ocean", and the title tune ""Born to Be Blue". There is a warmth and honesty to this music, as well as a timeless, enduring quality. Don't be surprised if many of their lyrical lines remain in your head after listening.

Back to top

© copyright 2003-2018 | Jazzed Media | RETURN/REFUND POLICY | Web design by A5design