home about cds videos contact
Nina Sheldon's vocalism reflects conspicuous virtues: a sophisticated sense of rhythm and harmonic sensibility, a warm, natural voice within its range, flawless intonation, an exceptional versatility-from gentle ballads to animated up-tempos and scatting-and an incisive sense of time with implacable tone control.

Nina Sheldon: vocals, piano
David "Fathead" Newman: tenor sax
John Menagon: bass
Bob Meyer: drums

Artist(s)/Title: Nina Sheldon "Harvest"
Catalog #: JM1041
Songs: Click Here
Album Review: Click Here
  1. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To - Listen to clip
  2. Oh, You Crazy Moon - Listen to clip
  3. Baby, Baby All the Time - Listen to clip
  4. 'S Wonderful - Listen to clip
  5. Insensatez - Listen to clip
  6. I'm Just a Lucky So and So - Listen to clip
  7. Detour Ahead - Listen to clip
  8. Eiderdown - Listen to clip
  9. Dindi - Listen to clip
  10. Close Your Eyes - Listen to clip
Back to top
  • Jazz vocalist and pianist Nina Sheldon is joined by members of her trio and special guest David "Fathead" Newman for an album of straightahead jazz standards
  • As for virtues of jazz piano, Nina expresses them in a meld of the following: symmetry of phrasing, advanced harmonic sense, tonal beauty and strong musical and emotional individuality-a signature sound.
  • Multi-talented as a jazz pianist, vocalist, composer, lyricist, band leader and educator, she threads the total fabric of musical functions and settings.
"Her conveyance of a genuine jazz feeling and swing is tangible. And that's what really matters. Ignited, she creates excitement and allure."

- Dr. Herb Wong

"She plays like a demon and sings like a living doll"

- New Yorker Magazine

"Her playing is "brilliantly swinging" and to her "strong presence as pianist, singer and writer of lyrics that are funny, outrageous and even wistful"

- John S. Wilson, New York Times

Back to top

© copyright 2003-2017 | Jazzed Media | RETURN/REFUND POLICY | Web design by A5design