home about cds videos contact
Previously unreleased recording of Jackie Cain & Roy Kral captured live in 1976 at Howard Rumsey's Concerts By the Sea and joined by John Mosher on bass, Gary Nash on drums, and Brian Atkinson on vibes.

Jackie Cain, vocals
Roy Kral, vocals and piano
John Mosher, bass
Gary Nash, drums
Brian Atkinson, vibes
Artist(s)/Title: Jackie Cain & Roy Kral: Echoes
Catalog #: JM1014
Songs: Click Here
Album Review: Click Here
  1. I Wonder What's the Matter with Me - Listen to clip
  2. Corcovado - Listen to clip
  3. Mountain Greenery - Listen to clip
  4. It's So Peaceful in the Country - Listen to clip
  5. Walk Pretty - Listen to clip
  6. Sweet Surrender - Listen to clip
  7. The Fat Man - Listen to clip
  8. How Little We Know - Listen to clip
  9. The Way We Are - Listen to clip
  10. The Echoes of My Life - Listen to clip
  11. Samba De Aviao - Listen to clip
  12. Winter Comes - Listen to clip
  13. The Runaround - Listen to clip
  14. Wheelers and Dealers - Listen to clip
  15. New York State of Mind - Listen to clip
Back to top
In September 1976, Rumsey welcomed Jackie Cain and her husband Roy Kral, a vocal duo whose impeccably polished, bop-inflected duets of songs from Broadway, cabaret, and modern jazz had made them a connoisseur's delight since 1948. Arranger Roy, who played piano, spiced up every song with hip substitute chords and rhythmic twists; the end result was as pretty as it was sophisticated.

By the time he died in 2002, the couple had made about forty albums. This one deserves a high place among them. Its never-before-issued live tracks are culled from the same shows that yielded an obscure LP, Concerts by the Sea. But Echoes outshines its predecessor thanks to a superior mastering job by the original engineer, Rod Nicas. It's easy to hear why film critic Leonard Maltin, a fan of theirs, wrote in Down Beat of getting "so caught up in that alluring sound" that it virtually swept him away. Jackie's "exquisitely pure, crystal-like" tone was "a joy to hear," he added.

James Gavin, New York City, 2006

Back to top

© copyright 2003-2017 | Jazzed Media | RETURN/REFUND POLICY | Web design by A5design