home about cds videos contact
Doug Richards is an exceptional composer and arranger who deserves much wider recognition. To many people who know him, he's nearly a living legend. Despite his impressive resume, IT'S ALL IN THE GAME is his first release under his own name. The project demonstrates his talent for writing for large jazz ensembles and his artful ability to transform the old and familiar into something new and exciting. IT'S ALL IN THE GAME is a big band CD featuring the Great American Music Ensemble (GAME), made up of some of the top musicians in the mid-Atlantic area, with notable contributions by guest artists Rene Marie, Jon Faddis, and the late Joe Kennedy, Jr.

Doug Richards: Director-Arranger
Marty Nau: lead alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, clarinet
Jim Nesbit: alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, baritone saxophone, basset horn, bass clarinet, bassoon, contra bassoon
Skip Gailes: tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, flute, bass clarinet
John Winn: tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet
Rob Holmes: baritone saxophone, alto saxophone, flute, bass clarinet
Roy Muth: lead trumpet, flugelhorn
Bob Ransom: trumpet, flugelhorn
John D'earth: trumpet, flugelhorn
Rob DeDominick: trumpet, flugelhorn
Jim McFalls: lead trombone
Dean Englert: trombone, euphonium
Lee Gause: bass trombone
Weldon Hill: piano, electric piano
Victor Dvoskin: bass
Howard Curtis: drums, percussion
Special Guests: vocalist Rene Marie
                           trumpeter Jon Faddis
                           violinist Joe Kennedy, Jr.

Artist(s)/Title: Great American Music Ensemble: It's All in The Game
Catalog #: JM1073
Songs: Click Here
Album Reviews: Click Here
  1. In the Mood - Listen to clip
  2. Can't Help Lovin' That Man of Mine - Listen to clip
  3. Clap Yo' Hands - Listen to clip
  4. Stardust - Listen to clip
  5. When it's Sleepy Time Down South - Listen to clip
  6. West End Blues - Listen to clip
  7. I've Got the World on a String - Listen to clip
  8. I Am Loved - Listen to clip
  9. September in the Rain - Listen to clip
  10. April in Paris - Listen to clip
  11. Cherokee - Listen to clip
  12. They All Laughed - Listen to clip
  13. Ain't Misbehavin' - Listen to clip
  14. Embraceable You - Listen to clip
  15. Bird Blues (Now's the Time, Au Privave, Blues for Alice, Billie's Bounce) - Listen to clip
Back to top
  1. The long overdue masterwork from composer/arranger Doug Richards, whom the great jazz critic Martin Williams called "the most original voice in big band since Gil Evans."
  2. The former Kennedy Center "house band"- one of the finest jazz ensembles in the country- augmented by Jon Faddis, the late Joe Kennedy, Jr. and Grammy-nominated vocalist Rene Marie.
  3. Fresh, entertaining, idea-packed big band music that invites, rewards (and perhaps demands) multiple listenings.

Back to top

© copyright 2003-2018 | Jazzed Media | RETURN/REFUND POLICY | Web design by A5design