home about cds videos contact
Expressive warmth meets sophisticated cool, as Andrea synthesizes disparate influences into a very individual sound. She starts with jazz traditions, stirs in a generous serving of blue, and adds enough spice to win over jazz listeners of varying tastes, from those who enjoy a fresh take on a familiar song, to those with an ear for adventure.


Andrea Wolper: vocals, arrangements
Kris Davis: piano
Michael Howell: guitar
Ken Filiano: bass
Michael TA Thompson: soundrhythium

Artist(s)/Title: Andrea Wolper: Parallel Lives
Catalog #: JM1054
Songs: Click Here
Album Reviews: Click Here
  1. Song To A Seagull - Listen to clip
  2. The Girls In Their Dresses - Listen to clip
  3. Why Aren't You Laughing? - Listen to clip
  4. Skylark - Listen to clip
  5. Who Will Buy? - Listen to clip
  6. June Rose - Listen to clip
  7. Maple Sugar Boy - Listen to clip
  8. Blue Wind - Listen to clip
  9. Be Cool - Listen to clip
  10. Something Good - Listen to clip
  11. Waiting For Winter - Listen to clip
  12. Save Your Love For Me - Listen to clip
Back to top
  • The four ensemble members have sterling reputations in their own right. Two of them-the widely admired, always-in-demand bassist Ken Filiano, and the former Dizzy Gillespie sideman Michael Howell-have been in musical partnership with Andrea for more than ten years. This is a working New York City-based band in which each member's individuality is welcomed, and spontaneity and discovery flourish.
  • Songs for people who want to hear both where jazz singing comes from and where it is today. The album seamlessly blends music from a variety of sources, such as the evergreen "Skylark," Andrea's haunting arrangement of a song from Broadway's "Spring Awakening," a revisited Buffy Sainte-Marie ballad, and originals like her saucy, swinging "The Girls in Their Dresses."
  • "Parallel Lives" stays with the production team (Todd Barkan, here as co-producer; Katherine Miller, recording engineer) from Andrea's last, highly acclaimed, release, "The Small Hours" (VarisOne.Jazz), which was widely praised for its excellent sound quality and singular attributes: Andrea's warmth and emotional bravery, her strong songwriting and unique arrangements, her ability to make music from different eras and genres hang together and seem entirely her own.

Back to top

© copyright 2003-2017 | Jazzed Media | RETURN/REFUND POLICY | Web design by A5design